User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Ram upgrade

  1. #1
    World at War
    2nd Wehrmacht Division
    Axis 32 Obergrenadier
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    09-28-2018
    Country
    This is 2WD/|RazzerKFG's Country Flag

    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ram upgrade

    Hi



    Hopeing fokes here could help answering my question, trying to get the rig upgraded for PS.



    My Rig
    CPU: Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.50GHz - https://ark.intel.com/products/65523...up-to-3_90-GHz

    Ram: 8,00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 667MHz (9-9-9-24) (2x4 GB 1333 mhz)

    MB: Gigabyte - Z77-DS3H - it has 4 ram sockets - https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...DS3H-rev-10#sp

    GPU: MSI GTX 760 2 GB (Upgrade to Asus 770 2GB comming in 6 days time)





    I'm trying to get some more ram to the system and was looking at 2 x 8 gb 1600 mhz, but getting confused.



    Should I just go for 2x8 GB 1600 mhz or find another pair of 2 x 4 GB 1333 mhz - I'm not sure if I'm reading the CPU correctly, can it "only" handle 2 ram sockets used or does it support 4 ram sockets being used?


    my board should downgrade any above 1600 mhz ram, so could go for a cheap offer for ram above 1600 mhz or ?



    Thanks
    Last edited by 2WD/|RazzerKFG; 07-04-2018 at 05:44 PM.

  2. #2
    Ban-Happy Veteran Axis 25 Ittohei
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Last Online
    08-01-2018
    Location
    Portugal
    Country
    This is [SEB]Kharabakh's Country Flag

    Posts
    2,820
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    You can have all 4 RAM sockets being used. So, you can go with 2x8 or 4x4, it will work either way.

  3. #3
    World at War
    Tournament Admin

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    05-31-2019
    Location
    Plymouth, United Kingdom
    Country
    This is [WaW]CA|Wir3tap's Country Flag

    Posts
    2,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    You can get the 1600 as it will downclock to 1333.

  4. #4
    World at War
    2nd Wehrmacht Division
    Axis 32 Obergrenadier
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    09-28-2018
    Country
    This is 2WD/|RazzerKFG's Country Flag

    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    The cpu info states:


    Memory Specifications

    Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 32 GB
    Memory Types DDR3 1333/1600
    Max # of Memory Channels 2
    Max Memory Bandwidth 25.6 GB/s
    ECC Memory Supported ‡ No


    Does that mean dualchannel only or ?

    Got a 2 x 8 gb 1600 mhz deal comming up, for 67 euro, HyperX Fury ram with ramcooler.

  5. #5
    World at War
    2nd Wehrmacht Division
    Axis 32 Obergrenadier
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Last Online
    04-09-2019
    Country
    This is Blind Firepower's Country Flag

    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    The memory sockets/slots are usually paired into channels, so a four-socket board will often have sockets 1 and 3 in a channel and sockets 2 and 4 in another channel. Thus, two channels of memory, two sockets each. While you can often get away with some mixing and matching, keep the modules that are in the same channel the same (i.e. put your old memory in slots 1 and 3, and your new memory in slots 2 and 4). You are likely currently set up with one in each channel (i.e. one DIMM in slot 1 and one in slot 2) to maximize the use of the dual-channel bandwidth. As Wire said, they're usually all going to run at the speed of the slowest DIMM.

    Hope that helps!

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Last Online
    06-17-2019
    Country
    This is Bailing_Out's Country Flag

    Posts
    3,163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    Best thing you can do is have your OS and the game run off an SSD. I kinda have that but I also have an XP dual boot cause that works best for gettin rid of viruses and such. I'm gonna have XP run off an SSD soon but it aint that way now. XP doesn't care what I do to 7 files of course and sometimes I do some shet to it to get rid of some shet.
    Kissinger Quote "The superpowers often behave like two heavily armed blind men feeling their way around a room, each believing himself in mortal peril from the other, whom he assumes to have perfect vision.
    Over time even two armed blind men in a room can do enormous damage to each other, not to speak of the room."

    Josey Wales: When I get to likin' someone, they ain't around long.
    Lone Watie: I notice when you get to DISlikin' someone they ain't around for long neither.

    The camps I remember being in. Maybe some others, I was drinking, I was on the moon with Steve.



    my blog Which I rarely post to.

  7. #7
    World at War
    2nd Wehrmacht Division
    Axis 32 Obergrenadier
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    09-28-2018
    Country
    This is 2WD/|RazzerKFG's Country Flag

    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by Bailing_Out View Post
    Best thing you can do is have your OS and the game run off an SSD. I kinda have that but I also have an XP dual boot cause that works best for gettin rid of viruses and such. I'm gonna have XP run off an SSD soon but it aint that way now. XP doesn't care what I do to 7 files of course and sometimes I do some shet to it to get rid of some shet.
    Win7 64 bit on a 120 GB SSD and a normal 500 GB HD.

    Got the new GPU, but still need to test it, missed a deal on a 770 4gb from evga, used $100 sadly (could sell the 770 2gb for the same price so it was a win/win situation), so gotta see what the ram buisness got to offer, saw a decent cl9 kingston 2 x 8 gb 1600 mhz deal, but alas that was $200.

    I do regular cleaning with various tools, wisecare 360, Ccleaner, ADWcleaner.

    Thanks for the help lads

  8. #8
    World at War
    Tournament Admin

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    05-31-2019
    Location
    Plymouth, United Kingdom
    Country
    This is [WaW]CA|Wir3tap's Country Flag

    Posts
    2,948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    look out for a 1050ti cheap.

  9. #9
    World at War
    2nd Wehrmacht Division
    Axis 32 Obergrenadier
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Last Online
    09-28-2018
    Country
    This is 2WD/|RazzerKFG's Country Flag

    Posts
    220
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Ram upgrade

    a few cheap ones out, But getting a ASUS 1060 6gb OC for $296, used but still 4 months left on the 2 year varrent
    Last edited by 2WD/|RazzerKFG; 07-04-2018 at 05:43 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •