PDA

View Full Version : New Computer Input requested



Trexer
09-20-2007, 09:58 PM
Hey there I am looking at getting a new computer and was seeking input from the great minds of WaW. I went through and came up with the following let me know if you have any suggestions. Thanks very much.

Vesta II Gold SLi
Vesta II Gold SLi
1 x PC ASSEMBLY AND TESTING (PRE-CONFIG OS IF PURCHASED)
1 x Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB Retail Box
1 x EVGA Nforce 680I SLI LGA775 Conroe ATX DDR2 2PCI-E16 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN 1394 Motherboard
1 x Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory
2 x EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS 500MHZ 640MB 1.6GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDTV Out HDCP DIRECTX10 V *IR-$39.24*
1 x Antec P182SE Mirrored Stainless Steel ATX Mid Tower Case 4X5.25 1X3.5 6X3.5INT No PS
1 x Corsair CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX Triple 12V 50A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply 120MM Fan 2X PCI-E
1 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
1 x LG GSA-H62N SATA DVD+RW 18X8X16 DVD-RW 18X6X16 DL 10X Black OEM DVD Writer W/ SW
1 x Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 with SP2 OEM English W/ Vista Upgrade Coupon
1 x Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-FI Xtremegamer FATAL1TY Professional Series Sound Card 7.1 PCI Retail
1 x D-LINK DI-604 4PORT 10/100 Broadband Router
1 x Microsoft Digital Media Keyboard & Optical Mouse Combo Black PS/2 OEM *With System Only*

Murds
09-21-2007, 12:50 AM
Seems good but axe the sli and get a 8800GTX, change the mouse and keyboard while you're at it.

[Retired]Adder
09-21-2007, 01:30 AM
Agreed SLI is strictly for the people with no bottom to their bank account. 10%-30% performance increase for 100% cost increase is not a good trade off. Get the GTX and be happy.

ADRIFTER
09-21-2007, 01:38 AM
what are you using it for, just games, or something else?

if its only for games, then a quad core is basically overkill. save some money and get the E6850 dual core. it's 3hz with a 33% faster FSB then the E6600 quad.

Trexer
09-21-2007, 05:20 AM
Yeah Quad is probably pretty pointless for me.

No need for an SLI board than I suppose so I may go with a different motherboard.

Take 2?
Vesta II Overclocker Edition
1 x PC ASSEMBLY AND TESTING (PRE-CONFIG OS IF PURCHASED)
1 x Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 3.0GHZ 1333FSB 4MB Retail
1 x Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R ATX LGA775 Conroe P35 DDR2 1PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 SATA RAID Sound GBLAN Motherboard
1 x Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory
1 x EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800 Ultra 612MHZ 768MB 2.16GHZ GDDR3 Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card
1 x Scythe Ninja Plus REV.B Heatpipe Fanless Heatsink AM2 LGA775 S478 S754 S939 W/ 120MM Fan Adjuster
1 x Antec Nine Hundred Mid Tower Gamer Case 900 ATX 9 Drive Bay No PS Top USB2.0 1394 Audio
1 x Corsair CMPSU-620HX 620W ATX Triple 12V 50A 24PIN ATX Modular Power Supply 120MM Fan 2X PCI-E
1 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB SATA2 3GB/S 7200RPM 16MB Cache NCQ Hard Drive
1 x Samsung SH-S183A Black SATA DVD+RW 18X8X16 DVD-RW 18X6X16 DL 8X INT DVD Writer OEM W/ SW
1 x Microsoft Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 with SP2 OEM English W/ Vista Upgrade Coupon
1 x Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-FI Xtremegamer FATAL1TY Professional Series Sound Card 7.1 PCI Retail
1 x D-LINK DI-604 4PORT 10/100 Broadband Router
1 x Microsoft Digital Media Keyboard & Optical Mouse Combo Black PS/2 OEM *With System Only*

$2,235.22 Canadian

Oh and is sticking with XP the best bet? I heard something about Directx 10 not being compatible with XP.

[Retired]Adder
09-21-2007, 06:55 AM
USG.Trexer;276529']

Oh and is sticking with XP the best bet? I heard something about Directx 10 not being compatible with XP.
Direct X-10 = Vista, nothing stopping them from making a Direct X-10 port to XP, but they won't because it's a Vista selling point.

Sauron
09-21-2007, 08:00 AM
Some tips I got.

You might want to consider 4GB of RAM instead of 2GB. It sounds like overkill, but in the future it won't be for sure. Especially with a 64-bit OS it's usefull. With the current RAM prices, it's the ideal time to put some "overkill" in this part, currently it might be a minor bit to much, but within a year it will give an advantage for sure.

I like your CPU choice, although it's not the fastests (dualcore is slightly faster), you won't notice the difference and it has potention for the future when you need the power.

You could consider going for just one 8800 Ultra, instead of 2 800GTS. It saves a lot of electricity and I think in most games the 8800 Ultra will be faster. And it's cheaper I think.

Consider a Samsung Spinpoint instead of a Seagate Barracuda, the Samsung Spinpoint is currently the most quiet HDD and it's very fast. Seagate's make a lot more noise. Personally I have a Seagate/Maxtor and used to prefer those, but the Samsung Spinpoints are a bit better at the moment. No price difference.

The NEC AD-7173S 18x is a better DVD burner I am pretty sure of.

Rest is very descent, very nice actually. Perhaps you could think of a Logitech G15 and G5 mouse (or their recently released follow ups), they are sweet for gaming (got them).

EDIT:
I am referring to the startpost PC.

Murds
09-21-2007, 10:44 AM
I would personally stick with the quad over the dual hardly any price difference:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2quad-q6600.html

1ABb|Cpt Squarebasher
09-21-2007, 01:03 PM
Adder;276537']Direct X-10 = Vista, nothing stopping them from making a Direct X-10 port to XP, but they won't because it's a Vista selling point.
People are working on it now so all with XP will have the directX-10 compatability.

Sauron
09-21-2007, 02:49 PM
WinXP will likely not have the same DirectX 10 capabilities, if it ever gets working it will never reach the same performance. Simply because Vista is build for it, WinXP isn't.

Though I personally don't have a DX10 card and there are no DX10 games yet, so I wouldn't switch as of now.

Oi[48AD]Sgt.Jeff1304
09-21-2007, 03:16 PM
i would suggest razors deathadder mouse over the g5 much mor comfortable and runs with a higher dpi with infra red beam

[Retired]Adder
09-21-2007, 03:52 PM
Let me reinforce two points again
1. An single 8800 ultra will be faster than ANY SLI of anything but... Ultra cards. Tom's Hardware and various tech sites have tested this quite well, the only times SLI outperforms is when your talking dual monitor or extremely high(1600x1200 and above) resolutions.

2. 2gig's of ram is cheap these days. 4 gigs will future proof you to be sure, but the current game that eats people computers for breakfast, Crysis, does not benefit from over 2gigs of ram. (FYI, I've landed a spot as a tester, I can't speak on game details because of NDA, but I can tell you preformance wise 2gig/4gig makes no difference, and without a 8600 or 8800 series you can't even play Crysis above "low")

The old "it ate my computer for Breakfast" game was Oblivion, no benefit there for over 2gigs of ram either, Crysis same thing. And it's going to be another two years before we see things better than Crysis.

Trexer
09-21-2007, 07:11 PM
Does XP only support 3 gigs of RAM though?

[Long Gone]Cap^Japs
09-21-2007, 07:12 PM
USG.Trexer;276648']Does XP only support 3 gigs of RAM though?
isn't that more to do with your mobo than xp?

BigBlueCheese
09-22-2007, 03:10 AM
T!!|JWo.Cap^Japs;276649']isn't that more to do with your mobo than xp?

Yes... although the 64 bit OS used 4 gigs better I believe.

Murds
09-22-2007, 03:16 AM
No nothing to do with mobo. A 32bit OS cannot address more than 4gb of RAM. If you have 4gb only around 3gb will be available for apps due to system requirements taking up the rest. This applies to Vista 32bit and XP 32bit edition. A 64 bit OS can address the full amount of RAM.

I would stick with 2gb at the moment and the 8800 ultra isn't worth the cost over the GTX.

BigBlueCheese
09-23-2007, 07:27 PM
T|JWo.Murds;276767']No nothing to do with mobo. A 32bit OS cannot address more than 4gb of RAM. If you have 4gb only around 3gb will be available for apps due to system requirements taking up the rest. This applies to Vista 32bit and XP 32bit edition. A 64 bit OS can address the full amount of RAM.

I would stick with 2gb at the moment and the 8800 ultra isn't worth the cost over the GTX.

I believe its a limitation for both then, because I know that previously mobos even with a 32 bit OS would not support more than 2 GB of RAM, but now they support 4GB on a 32 Bit OS.

Refaim
09-24-2007, 02:23 AM
Here's how it was explained to me, don't know how right it is, but it made sense.

2^32=4,294,967,296 that is then number of possible designations for a memory location on a 32 bit system. 4GB of ram is 4294967296 bits of ram... now not all of those memeory locations can be utillized because a mobo has some onboard memory bits built in that are automaticaly taken out of the pool of possible designations, things like the keyboard buffer and stuff like that as best i recall. So with a 32 bit system you can't use the full 4Gb and i've heard that when it is installed it sometimes casues problems with certain aplications.

Murds
09-24-2007, 05:39 PM
Your system will need to allocate in its memory the same amount of memory as your graphics card has. Say 512mb or 256mb or whatever your graphics card has needs to be kept for addressing this memory. So that's a big chunk gone.

Refaim
09-24-2007, 06:24 PM
T|JWo.Murds;277445']Your system will need to allocate in its memory the same amount of memory as your graphics card has. Say 512mb or 256mb or whatever your graphics card has needs to be kept for addressing this memory. So that's a big chunk gone.

So was I right about the addressing issue then?

If thats true then as you increase vid memory into the crazy you could realy get by with less ram and see no performance loss?? so a SLI setup of 2x 512 cards would take away 1gb worth of addresses... so you would have simular performance on that system with 3gb or 4gb of ram installed due to the unavailabillity of 1 gb worth of addreses?

Trexer
09-24-2007, 09:28 PM
Take 3. Does anyone see anything that jumps out as an issue?

http://pc.ncix.com/pcgallerynew/index.php?id=1000664

Murds
09-24-2007, 10:55 PM
The case - get an antec 182 instead. I have been told that the 900 sounds a bit like a wind farm.


The cooler - get a tuniq tower instead.

BigBlueCheese
09-24-2007, 11:38 PM
Why are you getting media center XP?