PDA

View Full Version : Native resolution



BsK/ firstblood
07-11-2007, 09:46 AM
Hey I'd like to know if there is any way to run BF 1942 on resolution 1280x1024?
The best I can select is 1280x940.

[Retired]JoaoRatao
07-11-2007, 10:39 AM
Yeah, there's one of the display config files that you have to manually edit. I had to do the same when I got my 19" monitors to get it to display properly at 1280x1024.

Can't remember exactly which one it is, but will try to find out.

***EDIT***
I think it's:

C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\Mods\bf1942\Settings\Profiles\Custom\VideoCus tom.con

Check if you have:

game.setGameDisplayMode 1680 1050 32 75

in it (the 75 is the refresh rate, so you may have to change that too).

I also have it set in:
C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\Mods\bf1942\Settings\Profiles\Default\Video.c on

as:

game.setGameDisplayMode 1680 1050 32 75

(32 being the number of colours I think)

So set both of them and see what happens! :D

***PS***
Why are the forums inserting random spaces in the filenames above??

In your case Substitute 1280 940 32 75 with 1280 1024 32 75. The "75" is the refresh rate.

AWOL ArabGurl
07-11-2007, 05:20 PM
I tried that and it didn't work.

But running at 1280x960x32 @60 seems to be perfect. It fills my screen resoultion that way.

Sionnach
07-11-2007, 05:54 PM
~~|Karida;257415']I tried that and it didn't work.

But running at 1280x960x32 @60 seems to be perfect. It fills my screen resoultion that way.

Odd. Then there must be another file that I changed. I know you definitely can do it, as I play BF at 1280x1024.

[Retired]JoaoRatao
07-11-2007, 09:04 PM
Try editing and write-protect the files. It prevents BF42 from revertng to default settings if it detects an unsupported resolution.

58F_Lc Ordos!
07-19-2007, 12:01 PM
I tried it for my 1680*1050 screen

no show with or without writeprotection

it just threw me into 640*480. Which sucks as i want to get to 1680*1050 (didn't buy a 22 inch widescreen to look at each pixel seperately)

-Ordos-

[Retired]JoaoRatao
07-19-2007, 12:59 PM
Plk.Ordos {PIMP};259262']I tried it for my 1680*1050 screen

no show with or without writeprotection

it just threw me into 640*480. Which sucks as i want to get to 1680*1050 (didn't buy a 22 inch widescreen to look at each pixel seperately)

-Ordos-

Change the file in the folder where BF42 saves the player profile. If I remember correctly Bf42 saves a file with the settings for each profile with the same name as it appears ingame. Profile name not tag.

I changed both that file and the default one, and it works. Thats what I did for my 20 inch widescreen.

1ABb|Cpt Squarebasher
07-19-2007, 02:30 PM
Plk.Ordos {PIMP};259262']I tried it for my 1680*1050 screen

no show with or without writeprotection

it just threw me into 640*480. Which sucks as i want to get to 1680*1050 (didn't buy a 22 inch widescreen to look at each pixel seperately)

-Ordos-
http://www.widescreengamingforum.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

This a good page which solves some problems with wide screens.

BsP Firelord
07-19-2007, 06:13 PM
http://www.widescreengamer.com/b/battlefield_1942.html

And dont forget to add "renderer.allowAllRefreshRates 1" to your VideoDefault.con in the Settings folder.
Worked for me with 1280x1024.