PDA

View Full Version : My Soon To Be New Computer

3B|Ct KSolo
05-18-2007, 07:12 PM
So, Im building a computer for myself finally. Im a first time builder, so Im having a friend help me.

Here are the specs so far of what Im going to get:
<O:p</O:p
:arrow: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775</ST1:p
:arrow: Asus P5N32-E SLI - LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i Motherboard
:arrow: nVidia 8800 GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 (not sure of brand yet, my friend is getting me it for like half price)
:arrow: OCZ GameXStream ATX 12V 700 Watt Power Supply
:arrow: Lian Li PC-7B plus II Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Case
:arrow: Corsair XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
:arrow: Seagate 300 GB SATA/300 16MB Buffer Hard Drive (2 of them)
:arrow: Plextor 18x DVD+R DVD Burner ATAPI
:arrow: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 PCI Sound Card
:arrow: Altec Lansing 5 Watt 2.0 Tower Speaker (OEM)
:arrow: Samsung 940BX Black 19-inch 5ms 1000:1 Contrast DVI LCD Monitor w/Height Adjustments
:arrow: Sennheiser PC151 3.5mm Connector Circumaural Headset
:arrow: Logitech G5 2-Tone 6 Buttons 1x Wheel USB Wired Laser Mouse
:arrow: Logitech Value 100 Black PS/2 Standard Keyboard OEM

Everything together should cost me around the $1500 mark. My bro, DevilDog, is also getting one, but his will be slightly cheaper because he can recycle some parts from his old computer.

So, what do you think? Is this a good setup? :-/

BsP Firelord
05-18-2007, 07:56 PM
What Im always wondering is: Why does everyone need an expensive Creative soundcard although most of them only use crappy desktop speakers?
If you connect your Dolby Digital HiFi Center to your computer then I can understand it. But with those cheap speakers you wont need an Audigy card.

Cyan Winters
05-18-2007, 07:57 PM
D|Sze.Firelord;243643']What Im always wondering is: Why does everyone need an expensive Creative soundcard although most of them only use crappy desktop speakers?