PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to any BF servers



Toolshed
05-16-2007, 07:21 PM
Hey guys. I just finally got moved back in for the summer at my new place on campus. I'm using the campus internet again (pretty good quality actually). I just got my internet set up, and now I can't connect to any type of BF internet server. I hit the update button, and nothing comes up. In fact, it never goes back to stop, but continues to say it's updating. Am I missing something? Is there some port that I have to re-open now that I'm on a new network or something?

SugarBear
05-16-2007, 08:13 PM
perhaps it is the network config that is blocking the port. Check with them to see if the following are open:
TCP Ports
28900
UDP Ports
14567, 22000, 23000-23009, 27900

Paasky
05-16-2007, 08:44 PM
Or you could do it the easy way: Open/Forward all ports from 10 - 50000, that makes life a lot easier ;)

Toolshed
05-16-2007, 11:27 PM
I'm going to feel like a nub for asking this, but how do I get to my ports again? I haven't had problems like this in forever so I don't remember how to get to them....

Paasky
05-17-2007, 12:03 AM
1) Find your router manual. Yeah, that's about it ;)

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 12:24 AM
I'm assuming you mean the manual to my wireless card?

Paasky
05-17-2007, 12:30 AM
Usually it's telephone/cable line => router (can be wireless) => ethernet/wireless card inside pc. And the router is what desides where the traffic goes & what is allowed.

If you've got ome fancy wireless network, then I can only say "whatever decides what traffic is routed to your PC" ;)

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 01:44 AM
Well, since I'm back on campus now, all the routers and such are controlled via the college technology department. I swear there is somewhere on you computer to do what SB is talking about.

Paasky
05-17-2007, 02:27 AM
Ah yes, you mean opening ports, not forwarding.
Try your firewall program first, that would usually be the culprit. If the firewall's any good, you can just press F1 (or open Help menu) & search for open port or something of the sort.

SugarBear
05-17-2007, 06:08 AM
If nothing has changed from your old location I am led to believe that it has to do with the school's network and nothing on your side. Schools are known to block gaming ports because everyone is well aware that gaming leads to mass murder on campus :******:

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 06:39 AM
Son of a....

If what you're saying is true (and I'd bet good money that it is true since these people have slowly been taking measures to cut down on file sharing and such), then I might very well be out of the rest of the campaign.

SugarBear
05-17-2007, 07:13 AM
Well all hope is not lost... you can try to get them to open the ports for you :gl:

BsP Firelord
05-17-2007, 06:46 PM
There might just be something wrong with the server search. Try connecting manually to a server (via console) or use All Seeing Eye to find servers. Make sure your firewall doesnt block you from the internet.
If that is still not working you can be pretty sure your school is blocking the battlefield ports.

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 06:55 PM
I forgot to mention that I tried all seeing eye and nothing came up. And I would normally think that it was my firewall, but I haven't changed any setting since I've been in my apartment. Would going on a new network reset any of those settings?

BsP Firelord
05-17-2007, 08:59 PM
When even ASE cannot find any servers I guess your school is blocking almost everything exept HTTP. Just to be sure I would disable the firewall while seraching for servers. If that doesnt work you can only ask your network administrator to open the ports for you.

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 11:38 PM
Okay. After a series of emails with the tech folks on campus, telling them which ports I needed open and such, they sent me this reply back.



<tt><tt>Hello,
We do indeed do some tricks to limit some p2p traffic, and sometimes
online capable games become collateral damage.
Anyway, I've allowed these ports out through our perimeter firewall so
that you may connect to servers running BattleField 1942 (and other
games that use this same port).
I cannot, however, allow machines here on campus to host publicly
accessible servers.
</tt></tt></pre>

So I should be good to go. Another crisis averted!

Toolshed
05-17-2007, 11:50 PM
Oh, and I haven't tested it yet. A friend of mine is on my desktop playing some DOTA, and I'm not going to kick him off. But I'll know in an hour or two.

Vaughan
05-18-2007, 12:01 AM
Kick his *** :lol:.

Enfield
05-18-2007, 12:24 AM
If this wasn't mentioned yet:
Check your windows firewall, see if its letting the bf1942.exe application trough.

Paasky
05-18-2007, 12:30 AM
I thought Windows Firewall automatically let all applications use the internet? Which basically makes it useless.

Toolshed
05-18-2007, 02:35 AM
Well, it works now, so izzzzzzzzzz all good. :cool:

SugarBear
05-18-2007, 04:52 AM
Right on! Buy those network admins a coffee... or since it's Mississippi perhaps you can buy them some pickled pigs feet... but that kind of prompt service demands some payback ;)

Sionnach
05-18-2007, 07:49 AM
/|SaltBadger;243453']...or since it's Mississippi perhaps you can buy them some pickled pigs feet...

Eeeeewwwww....do people really eat such things?