PDA

View Full Version : Resolution Problems



[46Z]G|SSze.RandomHero
11-11-2006, 09:44 AM
Alright I've had this problem since I got my new computer and just waited to ask now I figured this would be the best place with over 200 people. But normaly I run on 1280x1024 resolution for windows and other games. The problem is that bf1942 doesn't support that and it doesn't really cause any problems besides my text gets thin sides and really hard to read. Would there be any way to get 1280x1024 by editing a file? Why is 1942 the only game that doesn't support 1280x1024?

Sionnach
11-11-2006, 09:45 AM
G|Sze.RandomHero;169032']Alright I've had this problem since I got my new computer and just waited to ask now I figured this would be the best place with over 200 people. But normaly I run on 1280x1024 resolution for windows and other games. The problem is that bf1942 doesn't support that and it doesn't really cause any problems besides my text gets thin sides and really hard to read. Would there be any way to get 1280x1024 by editing a file? Why is 1942 the only game that doesn't support 1280x1024?

There is indeed a way as I had the same problem myself. I'll go and root out which file I had to change and let you know.....

**EDIT**
In C:\Program Files\EA GAMES\Battlefield 1942\Mods\bf1942\Settings\Profiles\Custom there's a file called VideoCustom.con

Mine is currently set to :


rem Optimal setting for CPU > 1400 MHZ
game.setGameDisplayMode 1280 1024 32 75
game.setDetailTexture 4
game.setShadows 1
game.setEnvironmentMapping 1
game.setGraphicsQuality 3
game.setLightmaps 1
game.setRenderWhenSpawnMenu 1
game.setMenuViewdistance 100
game.setEffectsQuality 3
game.setPerformance 3

Try that?

BsP Firelord
11-11-2006, 09:57 AM
If that doesnīt help go through all video.con and videocustom.con files you can find in the settings folder. Then it should definately work. You also only need to modify the "game.setGameDisplayMode 1280 1024 32 75" line. Depending on you monitor you need to change the last number. This will change the refresh rate. 60Hz is the most common rate for TFT monitors for example. Then write protect the files you have changed because BF likes to change them back to the default settings if it doesnīt know the entered resolution.

I recently switch to a TFT monitor and needed to make these changes, too. Strange thing is that my text is still kinda blury and unreadable although i have the 1280x1024 resolution. Anyone having similar experiences? Seems like BF1942 just isnīt meant to run at that resolution?

[46Z]G|SSze.RandomHero
11-11-2006, 11:39 AM
Yeah I did that nothing changed really, guess I'm gonna have to get used to blurry text.

Sionnach
11-11-2006, 12:00 PM
Hmm, I don't have blurry text at all, and I have 2 19" TFTs. What driver's are you using? I use Omega 2.6.87 for AIi.

[46Z]G|SSze.RandomHero
11-11-2006, 01:09 PM
ForceWare Release 90
Version: 93.71
Release Date: November 2, 2006
WHQL Certified
For Dual Nvidia 7900's

cb99
11-11-2006, 02:05 PM
You just have to change the 960 to 1024 in the file that get used.
But the important thing is that you have to write protect it afterwards.
Otherwise it gets reset to 960, and yes that works using it my self on one box.

-cb99

PgD[45PzL]|Goose
11-19-2006, 06:15 PM
I had this problem as well, The way I fixed it was going into the Nvidia Control Panel, and went into Quality and Settings control panel, Made a bf1942.exe profile, and set all the settings to "Application Controlled". I THINK that might solve your problem.

Oh, also, there should be a "Quality" setting too, set the slider to "Quality" and leave it there.

Toolshed
11-21-2006, 04:44 PM
This all looks eeriely similar to: http://www.battleforeurope.com/showthread.php?t=11051

:shiver:

RN_Max
11-21-2006, 07:54 PM
BF42 only properly supports the preset resolutions and any others are extrapolated, which often shows as distortion of the HUD sprites as that overlay is fixed.

Widescreen can even be set by messing with the con files, but it is bastardised from an oversized 4:3 aspect screen with the top and bottom chopped off, also having a fecked aspect and zoom field.

Stuff like this bubbles to the surface from time to time, its just a shame that gems like BF42 settings don't make it into prominent stickies at the top of the Support Forum ...