PDA

View Full Version : Anyone noticing slower internet or packet loss over the last few weeks?



zombie
10-09-2006, 06:54 PM
For about 3 weeks I, and everyone I talk to on TS, has noticed that I break up alot... Eventhough I seem to be able to hear everyone just fine... I have been noticing intermitent internet problems as well... pings to my ISP hub, our new battle server and other sites are excellent... except when my traffic passes through the MZIMA network.

Tracert to our battle server never hits the mzima network as is perfect.
Tracert to yahoo.com same...
Tracert to our TS server passes thru the mzima network on the 7-10 hop and goes to complete crap.

I was just wondering how many of you I could get to do a tracert to our TS server or other IPs or sites... just to see if you are affected as well...

Im in Oklahoma and the affected traffic passes down thru Dallas and Houston, then goes onto California via mzima.net

I was also wondering if anyone here has any knowledge of this company or network that could maybe shed some light on the situtation... googling "packet loss mzima" brings back some recent posts on forums dealing with the same subject...

Nothing worse than a bad internet connect that you can do nothing aboot.

as always... I blame Metallica.

[SEB]Kharabakh
10-09-2006, 07:49 PM
Well, after I did a trace myself, I go from an average of 163ms to a staggering 364 on one of the MZIMA hops...

Khar

TechX
10-09-2006, 08:00 PM
nothing noticed but haven't traced yet

Then why bother posting? :wha: - Khar

zombie
10-09-2006, 08:34 PM
In what I thought would be a futile attempt to get some sort of response and prove my theory of every support@enter-a-domain-here.com leads to a trash bin... I went to mzima's main website... clicked on their contact us link and emailed support...


and had a reply within a few minutes!


they asked me to forward some traceroutes... which i conveniently had some screenshots of on my webserver... ;)

I will await their reply and update.

[Retired]JoaoRatao
10-09-2006, 08:48 PM
For the last weeks, my internet has been slow, with pings reaching up to 300-400. But since I'm in Europe and my ISP is not the same as yours, so it certainly it's not related. But I have seen many people complaining about it, perhaps the internet is going kaboom?

I blame North Korea and :******: .

But seriously, have you tried all the usual solutions as checking the cables, unplugging your modem for a minute and so on?

zombie
10-09-2006, 09:34 PM
I have. But when you perform a tracert and you see that you always drop packets at the same hop that pretty much cancels everything else out.

I would encourage you to do a tracert yourself... 1) Mizma is worldwide... and 2) it doesnt matter where in the world you are if you are trying to access an ip address in the US you are going to have to hop thru the US network.

It has nothing to do with my ISP... its hops along the way to where I am going.

Me and Khar are in 2 different parts of the world and he is affected as well.

[Retired]JoaoRatao
10-09-2006, 10:30 PM
Here is my tracert for the public server, on a bad day (which happens to be today). I f you would like to compare that is.

G:\>tracert 70.86.33.226

A rastrear a rota para e2.21.5646.static.theplanet.com [70.86.33.226]
até um máximo de 30 saltos:

1 6 ms 7 ms 13 ms
2 12 ms 8 ms 10 ms pal-213-228-132-6.netvisao.pt [213.228.132.6]
3 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms 194-79-84-9.net.novis.pt [194.79.84.9]
4 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 194-79-92-118.nr.ip.pt [194.79.92.118]
5 23 ms 24 ms * 208.49.160.241
6 176 ms 166 ms 164 ms so1-3-0-2488M.ar1.dal2.gblx.net [67.17.106.122]

7 249 ms 256 ms 244 ms The-Planet.ge-4-3-0.ar1.DAL2.gblx.net [64.210.10
4.58]
8 241 ms 244 ms 237 ms te9-2.dsr02.dllstx3.theplanet.com [70.87.253.30]

9 229 ms 323 ms 217 ms po31.dsr01.dllstx5.theplanet.com [70.85.127.106]

10 325 ms 317 ms 315 ms po1.car06.dllstx5.theplanet.com [70.84.160.136]

11 308 ms 296 ms 291 ms e2.21.5646.static.theplanet.com [70.86.33.226]

Rastreio concluído.

zombie
10-09-2006, 10:44 PM
A true comparison would be a tracert to the TS server, which is what I am having the bad trace to... The pubbie server is on a completely different server from our TS server.. I myself have a perfect connect to the pubbie as I said.

And funny enough, I have almost the exact same path to the pubby as you, which doesnt include any hops thru MIZMA... or whatever it is ... ive typed it so much i dont remember the proper letters anymore.

Its the TS server.

[Retired]JoaoRatao
10-09-2006, 10:49 PM
Ok here is mine for the TS.

Microsoft Windows XP [Versão 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

G:\>tracert 64.27.18.249

A rastrear a rota para ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
até um máximo de 30 saltos:

1 16 ms * 27 ms
2 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms pal-213-228-132-14.netvisao.pt [213.228.132.14]

3 23 ms 30 ms 18 ms lis1-br1-gi-14-0.cprm.net [195.8.10.49]
4 20 ms 21 ms 20 ms lis2-cr1-gi-9-0.cprm.net [195.8.0.173]
5 59 ms 58 ms 58 ms lon1-cr1-po-1-0.cprm.net [195.8.0.162]
6 146 ms 146 ms 144 ms was1-cr1-gi-6-1.cprm.net [195.8.0.202]
7 179 ms 178 ms 178 ms eqix-peer.iad01.mzima.net [206.223.115.62]
8 230 ms 232 ms 234 ms eos2-25.cr01.lax02.mzima.net [216.193.255.129]
9 224 ms 230 ms 221 ms ge0-calpop.cust.lax02.mzima.net [72.37.172.90]
10 235 ms 233 ms 230 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Rastreio concluído.

[SEB]Kharabakh
10-09-2006, 11:02 PM
Went better now, no idea if they actually did anything or not...

C:\tracert 64.27.18.249

Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 24 ms 17 ms 17 ms dial-b1-174-125.telepac.pt [194.65.174.125]
3 18 ms 17 ms 15 ms 213.13.135.189
4 18 ms 17 ms 17 ms lis2-br1-po-2-0.cprm.net [195.8.10.197]
5 44 ms 17 ms 18 ms lis2-cr1-gi-9-0.cprm.net [195.8.0.213]
6 56 ms 75 ms 56 ms lon1-cr1-po-2-0.cprm.net [195.8.0.222]
7 147 ms 148 ms 148 ms was1-cr1-gi-6-1.cprm.net [195.8.0.202]
8 156 ms 165 ms 162 ms eqix-peer.iad01.mzima.net [206.223.115.62]
9 219 ms 238 ms 234 ms eos2-25.cr01.lax02.mzima.net [216.193.255.129]
10 238 ms 253 ms 225 ms ge0-calpop.cust.lax02.mzima.net [72.37.172.90]
11 224 ms 227 ms 228 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Trace complete.

Khar

Refaim
10-09-2006, 11:07 PM
Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 161.6.217.254
2 243 ms <1 ms 10 ms 161.6.201.81
3 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms h41.188.140.67.ip.alltel.net [67.140.188.41]
4 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms h248.30.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.30.248]
5 3 ms 3 ms 3 ms h210.33.213.151.ip.alltel.net [151.213.33.210]
6 5 ms 5 ms 9 ms so-1-0.hsa2.Cincinnati1.Level3.net [4.78.218.5]
7 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms so-7-0-0.mp2.Cincinnati1.Level3.net [4.68.124.24
9]
8 79 ms 81 ms 80 ms ae-0-0.bbr1.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [64.159.1.125
]
9 80 ms 80 ms 79 ms ae-12-53.car2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.68.102.7
7]
10 80 ms 80 ms 80 ms Metrocrossing.level3.net [63.209.82.190]
11 84 ms 81 ms 80 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
Trace complete.

zombie
10-09-2006, 11:52 PM
Here is what I am up against.

Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 16 ms 22 ms 16 ms ip68-12-24-1.ok.ok.cox.net [68.12.24.1]
2 55 ms 55 ms 24 ms 68.12.10.49
3 49 ms 64 ms 62 ms mtc3dsrj01-ge704.rd.ok.cox.net [68.12.14.21]
4 96 ms 80 ms 71 ms mtc3bbrj01-ge020.rd.ok.cox.net [68.1.0.104]
5 109 ms 122 ms 87 ms 68.1.0.151
6 130 ms 166 ms 115 ms dllsbbrj01-ae0.rd.dl.cox.net [68.1.0.142]
7 93 ms 95 ms 81 ms eqix-peer.dfw01.mzima.net [206.223.118.62]
8 * 560 ms 66 ms eos0-21.cr01.hou01.mzima.net [216.193.255.137]
9 148 ms * 115 ms eos1-22.cr01.lax02.mzima.net [216.193.255.9]
10 250 ms 158 ms * ge0-calpop.cust.lax02.mzima.net [72.37.172.90]
11 190 ms 195 ms * ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
12 * 141 ms 133 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Trace complete.


Its obviously their Houston hub...

stupid Houston.

Jenkl
10-10-2006, 01:32 AM
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Andrew>tracert ares.myinternetservices.com

Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 96 ms 87 ms 103 ms lo-0.erx.tor.primus.ca [216.254.132.30]
3 87 ms 87 ms 87 ms core1.tor.primus.ca [216.254.131.165]
4 86 ms 87 ms 88 ms gi1-0-3.bb1.tor.primus.ca [216.254.128.164]
5 96 ms * 92 ms g2-5.mpd01.yyz02.atlas.cogentco.com [38.112.1.5]
6 91 ms 87 ms 87 ms v3492.mpd01.yyz01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.81]
7 86 ms 87 ms 87 ms g2-0-0-3490.core01.yyz01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.73]
8 111 ms 111 ms 112 ms p13-0.core02.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.213]
9 119 ms 119 ms 119 ms p12-0.core01.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.33]
10 150 ms 151 ms 143 ms p10-0.core02.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.209]
11 151 ms 151 ms 151 ms p6-0.core01.sjc04.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.234]
12 166 ms 159 ms 167 ms paix.pao01.mzima.net [198.32.176.38]
13 166 ms 175 ms 175 ms eos2-22.cr01.lax02.mzima.net [216.193.255.162]
14 174 ms 167 ms 167 ms ge0-calpop.cust.lax02.mzima.net [72.37.172.90]
15 174 ms 167 ms 167 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Trace complete.

Do what you will with the data, but know my line is already messed right now.

TechX
10-10-2006, 02:11 AM
Then why bother posting? :wha:


E|SSzt.zombie;159404']Anyone noticing slower internet or packet loss over the last few weeks?

A question was asked. My answer to this question was in the negative. Please explain again what's wrong with that?....

look at my beautiful rto's!


C:\>tracert 64.27.18.249

Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 6 ms 8 ms 7 ms 10.71.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.

Trace complete.

;-)

zombie
10-10-2006, 06:18 PM
Ive had contact by 2 tech reps asking me for example tracerts so they can inspect the problem... havent heard anything back from either... but after todays round of emails I am getting this...

Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 12 ms 16 ms 14 ms ip68-12-24-1.ok.ok.cox.net [68.12.24.1]
2 40 ms 12 ms 15 ms 68.12.10.49
3 16 ms 26 ms 13 ms mtc3dsrj01-ge704.rd.ok.cox.net [68.12.14.21]
4 105 ms 17 ms 36 ms mtc3bbrj01-ge020.rd.ok.cox.net [68.1.0.104]
5 18 ms 17 ms 23 ms 68.1.0.151
6 18 ms 18 ms 19 ms dllsbbrj01-ae0.rd.dl.cox.net [68.1.0.142]
7 18 ms 20 ms 34 ms eqix-peer.dfw01.mzima.net [206.223.118.62]
8 51 ms 35 ms 36 ms eos0-21.cr01.hou01.mzima.net [216.193.255.137]
9 60 ms 52 ms 69 ms eos1-22.cr01.lax02.mzima.net [216.193.255.9]
10 92 ms 55 ms 59 ms ge0-calpop.cust.lax02.mzima.net [72.37.172.90]
11 58 ms 57 ms 55 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Trace complete.




Could be the time of day... or maybe they actually found the problem... Im going to email them as soon as I get back to work to see what they say.

BigBlueCheese
10-10-2006, 07:40 PM
Tracing route to ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 128.123.70.1
2 8 ms 1 ms <1 ms milton-gate1-ge4.nmsu.edu [128.123.128.193]
3 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms checs-nmsu-ge0-1.nmsu.edu [128.123.100.26]
4 4 ms 1 ms 1 ms checs-nmsu-checs-atm-193.CHECS.Net [192.65.78.19
3]
5 6 ms 5 ms 5 ms 17.ch0.s4-1-0-3.albq-cust.albq.uswest.net [207.1
08.242.33]
6 13 ms 12 ms 9 ms abq-core-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.151.1]
7 31 ms 29 ms 32 ms dal-core-02.inet.qwest.net [205.171.208.154]
8 35 ms 36 ms 38 ms dap-brdr-01.inet.qwest.net [205.171.225.53]
9 32 ms 32 ms 35 ms oc48-1-2-0.edge2.Dallas.Level3.net [4.68.110.169
]
10 36 ms 33 ms 29 ms so-0-0-0.bbr1.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.68.96.117]
11 130 ms 76 ms 76 ms as-1-0.bbr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [64.159.0.246
]
12 81 ms 61 ms 76 ms ae-12-51.car2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.68.102.1
3]
13 76 ms 76 ms 57 ms Metrocrossing.level3.net [63.209.82.190]
14 84 ms 76 ms 76 ms ares.myinternetservices.com [64.27.18.249]

Trace complete.
Second trace revealed an average of 106 ping for the final destination. My problem seems to be that my signal goes from southern new mexico, all the way up north to central NM, in Albuquerque, then over to texas in Dallas, and then over to Los Angeles. Successive tests revealed that my weak link is the first hop that's in Albuquerque sometimes and then also the link from Dallas to LA.

SugarBear
10-10-2006, 07:55 PM
My tracert came back pretty clean. I have however noticed what seems to be reduced bandwidth. When more than two people talk it cuts out terribly and in the past (last campaign) it didn't. It would be garbled but you could still hear everyone. This really becomes an issue with the combo of CC chatter and Company chatter cancelling out ALL chatter. I am sure that is why I missed a couple of orders on Saturday and had to have them repeated.

BigBlueCheese
10-10-2006, 08:09 PM
G|Kpt.SugarBear;159638']My tracert came back pretty clean. I have however noticed what seems to be reduced bandwidth. When more than two people talk it cuts out terribly and in the past (last campaign) it didn't. It would be garbled but you could still hear everyone. This really becomes an issue with the combo of CC chatter and Company chatter cancelling out ALL chatter. I am sure that is why I missed a couple of orders on Saturday and had to have them repeated.

Make sure that under sound options you have your bandwidth set to maxium.

zombie
10-10-2006, 08:24 PM
thats also because of whoever is setting up the TS from the beggining is setting all the channels to a much higher codec then is needed... we used to run all channels at 12.x and max at 16.x. now all channels are set to 25.x which imo is way too high... you cant notice a single difference in voice quality unless your playing music for everyone...

I would advise everyone with the power to do so, edit your channel back to 12.x and see if that doesnt help... I'd bet my next paycheck that it does. ;)

Sionnach
10-10-2006, 08:31 PM
They're not, they're set to 19.5Kbit, at the moment.

zombie
10-10-2006, 08:36 PM
They're not, they're set to 19.5Kbit, at the moment.

Still too high imo... 12.x i would bet will still make a huge differnece for people... i remember back in 8 when some channels even got switched to 16.x and created issues for larger channels.

Refaim
10-10-2006, 08:49 PM
Different sections are set differently... Axis set to 25, allied to 19, pub to 12, etc

zombie
10-10-2006, 08:55 PM
|Refaim;159661']Different sections are set differently... Axis set to 25, allied to 19, pub to 12, etc


I turned the pubby down last week or so...

BigBlueCheese
10-10-2006, 09:01 PM
We were running on 9.x in Campaign 8 too... and 12.x only gives a mildly better sound. I think we should switch back to 12.x for all the important channels.

TechX
10-10-2006, 10:17 PM
E|SSzt.zombie;159654']thats also because of whoever is setting up the TS from the beggining is setting all the channels to a much higher codec then is needed... we used to run all channels at 12.x and max at 16.x. now all channels are set to 25.x which imo is way too high... you cant notice a single difference in voice quality unless your playing music for everyone...

I would advise everyone with the power to do so, edit your channel back to 12.x and see if that doesnt help... I'd bet my next paycheck that it does. ;)

The Zman is right. 12 sounds fine to me. No need for 25!

SugarBear
10-11-2006, 01:40 AM
D^|PPor.BBCheese;159647']Make sure that under sound options you have your bandwidth set to maxium.

Thanks! Was only set to 32... hope that in combo with the new 12K settings will fix.

TechX
10-11-2006, 08:34 PM
12 has been found good enough for my clan's TS, at least for most things.