PDA

View Full Version : Mobo needto support 64 bit



[47Sgb]A|Pvt.CitizenSolgr
01-04-2007, 05:50 AM
My CPU got fried and i need to buy a new one, on going to buy a pentium 4 and it has 64-bit but does my motherboard need to support 64-bit it does it just do it automatically. Little help. And dont suggest any other processors because i have a dell and i need it to be the same kind of cpu or it wont work, in tel p4. so if anyone can find a better p4 that is more than 2.9 GHz and not too much that would be great. I need one fore around 100 dollars so.

BigBlueCheese
01-04-2007, 07:09 AM
If your motherboard has the right scocket, you'll be able to upgrade. What are you upgrading from? It would need to be another P4.

RN_Max
01-04-2007, 07:04 PM
The later Pentium 4 desktop CPUs [6xx series] have EMT64 extension support built in, which enables them to handle 64 bit code, but they are not true 64 bit processors.

For example, my DTR laptop has a Pentium 4 650 3.4GHz EMT64 CPU, but the mainboard will run any compatible socket 5xx and 6xx series P4 CPUs.

[47Sgb]A|Pvt.CitizenSolgr
01-06-2007, 03:28 PM
Intel Pentium 4 641 Cedar Mill 3.2GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 EM64T Processor - Retail

I had a P4 previosly, and im pretty sure my mobo supports up to 3.8Ghz

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819116003

BigBlueCheese
01-07-2007, 07:02 AM
You should be fine then.